6.1 C
New York
Thursday, April 25, 2024

Buy now

Things you Must Know About ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

The ICC  T20 world cup can be performed on 16th October to 13th November 2022, during Australia. That is the eighth version of the tournament and the ICC confirmed the event furnishings on 21st January 2022. The hosts of the tournament, I. E. Australia, also are the defending champions this time around.

After the Covid time this tournament is one of the big tournament that people are waiting for and the T20 format is actually popular compare to 50 over format.

T20 World Cup Team Groups

There are many T20 World Cup team groups this time around. There are 2 main team groups (Group 1 and Group 2) and 2 qualifier groups (Group A and Group B) in the Super 12. Let’s take a look:

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Semi-Finals and Finals Matches Schedule

Price of T20 World Cup Tickets 2022

The anticipated rush to purchase tickets for the major event has already begun. They are now accessible for all 45 T20 World Cup games, including the championship game. This will take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13, 2022. For every Super 12 and first-round T20 World Cup game, children’s tickets cost roughly $5. In all venues hosting World Cup events, adult tickets cost $20.

The ICC T20 World Cup’s historical context

The competition will replace the anticipated ICC Champions Trophy in 2021, the ICC stated in April 2018. After the ICC granted Twenty20 matches between member teams full international status on January 1, 2019, this took place. The T20 World Cup Qualifier, which acted as a pathway to the tournament, was announced to be under consideration by the ICC in October 2019. 12 teams from the 2020 ICC T20 World Cup and 4 teams from qualifying competitions will so advance to the T20 World Cup.

On January 23, 2020, the ICC made public the full set of rules governing the tournament’s qualification procedure. The Board of Control for Indian Cricket was notified by the ICC (BCCI) is unable to obtain a tax exemption for the occasion from the Government of India.

Earl Eddings, the president of Cricket Australia, said that Australia might host the event in October 2021, with India hosting it the following year, when the prior edition of the event was being reviewed in July 2020 due to the COVID-19 epidemic.

Analysis of the 2022 T20 World Cup schedule

The tournament would stretch 29 days and have a total of 45 matches, according to the calendar. Twelve Round 1 matches, thirty Super 12 matches, two semi-final matches, and one final are played. The Super 12 rounds will start on October 22, while Round 1 games will start on October 16. On November 9, the semi-finals will take place.

Seven locations have been chosen by Australia for the World Cup. The majority of Super 12 matches will be played on all-new surfaces in order to maintain the competition’s integrity. Six Round 1 matches will be played in Geelong, six Round 1 matches in Hobart, and three Round 1 matches in Super 12. The remaining Super 12 games will be played in Adelaide, Brisbane, Sydney, Perth, and Sydney.

From a temporal perspective, the schedule starts to seem pretty interesting. The match had a total of six different start times. The times are 5:30 IST, 8:30 IST, 9:30 IST, 12:30 IST, 13:30 IST, and 16:30 IST. This will guarantee that the timetable adheres to the time zone of the final destination.